Harbour of Tears

Andy Latimer: Guitars, Flutes, Keyboards, Vocals, Penny Whistles
Colin Bass: Bass guitar, Vocals
Mickey Simmonds: Keyboards
David Paton: Bass guitar, Vocals
Mae McKenna: A Capella vocal
John Xepoleas: Drums
Neil Panton: Oboe, Soprano Sax, Harmonium
John Burton: French Horn
Barry Phillips: Cello
Karen Bentley: Violin
Anita Stoneham: Violin

Named after the Cobh Harbour (pronounced Cove), being the last vision of Ireland for thousands of Irish emigrants, this is Camel's latest studio offer. Harbour Of Tears is folk-irish oriented in it's musical and sound scapes. Andy plays lots of flutes and whistles and the overall sound is charming. The album is generally more relaxed and moody than Camel's previous studio release, Dust and Dreams, and it ends with 20 minutes recording of the sound of waves crushing at the seashore. Some excellent vocal parts are featured by the Latmier, Bass and Paton as well as one A Capella sung by Mae McKenna.

* The concept for the album came to Andy after the death of his father in 1993. Andy searched for his lost family roots, retrieving very little, yet coming up with the concept for Camel's next album.
* Paul Burgess, who played with Camel since 1984, decided to retire from drumming and he is not present in the album.
* The recording began in March '95, but the release was delayed till after xmas. CP was flooded with unexpected demand.

CD: CP-006CD, Released on January 15th, 1996
Approx Time: Total Playing Time: 45:43 (62:14, waves included)

Skylines - Camel Web Page - created by Ofir Zwebner